Friday, June 26, 2015


A sizable delegation of staunch supporters from the Association of Young Filipino-Chinese Entrepreneurs (Anvil Business Club) went to cheer for their president during the induction of the Alumni Association of Xavier School's (AAXS) new set of officers, where yours truly shall serve as Vice-President for a two-year term from 2015 to 2017.
Leading the new board as the Association's 27th Vice-President is John de Guzman, Ph.D., DBA (’67), Federation of Filipino-Chinese Alumni Associations, Inc. (FFCAAI) Vice-President. In his inaugural address, Dr. John remarked that his love affair with his alma mater has come full circle – having first distinguished himself as Xavier School's very first Student Council President in 1966 – and today, as the alumni organization's oldest-serving president. He deemed his role as "auspicious," noting that the school shall be celebrating it's 60th founding year in 2016. A strong advocate for quality education, Dr. John vowed to pursue programs that would support Xavier's "3-Is" thrust of "Innovation, Internationalization, and Information Technology."
For his part, outgoing President Diosdado Ng ('85) thanked everyone for a very productive two-year term. Despite the many challenges he has undergone throughout his tenure as AAXS head, he enjoyed every moment of his presidency, fully aware that simple innovations and initiatives have somehow brought positive changes in the lives that he touched. "The Xavier alumnus has always been 'barat' ('niggardly') but not 'kuripot' ('tightwad')," he mused. "I believe that if every member of Xavier School's 13,000-plus alumni would just give Php50 every month for the association, imagine how many poor children we can send to school or strengthen communities," he said.
The new AAXS board had no less than Xavier School's President, Fr. Ari Dy ('89) as their inducting officer. In his short remarks, he congratulated the outgoing board for their Yeoman efforts in supporting the school through various projects, noting that President Dado's term has seen an increase in the number of outreach programs. He urged the new board to continue what the outgoing leadership has started, with a more renewed sense of mission, as the school shall celebrate its Diamond Jubilee Year next year.
The Angelo King Multi-Purpose Center was packed with well-wishers and supporters, a majority of them active alumni from the Association, including past presidents, school officials, former teachers (humbled to see my former grade school teachers: Ms. Jane Ching, Ms. Luisa B. Relatado, Ms. Rosel Valenzuela, Mr. Saloy Salumbides) and Class Representatives. Among the leading alumni present included Senator JV Ejercito ('87), who took time out from his busy schedule to grace the ceremonies. In his inspirational message, he lauded outgoing President Dado Ng for "possibly being the most active AAXS President... (I have)... met in many years" and "left big shoes for the new leadership to fill." He credited his success as a public servant due to his Xavier values for being a "Man-for-Others" and reiterated his unwavering support for the AAXS for the coming term.
The newly-inducted president has been with the Boy Scouts of the Philippines for over 40 years, starting as a young student leader in Xavier School. As a professional scouter, Dr. John has strengthened the cause by establishing the Boy Scouts Foundation that provides financial support to deserving scouts who cannot afford to join jamborees (local and overseas) as well as funding development projects for communities affected by calamities. He has earned the respect of his colleagues, becoming the first Philippine representative to the World Organization of the Scout Movement in Geneva, Switzerland. At the core of his commitment is his strong faith, deepened by years of service to the St. Jude Parish Pastoral Council. He was conferred the prestigious Xavier-Kwangchi Exemplary Alumni Award for his efforts in 2011.
Also inducted were yours truly (’84) as Vice-President; Greenhills Kagawad Atty. Edson Eufemio (’86) as Secretary-General; former JCI Manila Director for Individual Development Joel Dayrit (’00) as Treasurer. The Trustees include: Little Baguio Barangay Captain and JCI San Juan Katipunero Supremo President Allen Christopher Silvano (’96), Arun Hemandas (’01), Jonathan Richie Yap (’94), Benedict Chua (’76), Juan Miguel Pacifico David (‘95/’96), Dr. Jonathan Dy (’86), Edgar Gatchalian (’86), Kagawad Stefano Angelo Lim (’09), Jimmy Ongaigui (’63), Wilson Tan (’87), and Dr. Timoteo Yu (’75).
Kudos to lovely Anvil leaders YanFang Zhu for co-emceeing the event with David Gozali ('13), and to Katherine Sy-Yap for another great events/program management.
The Alumni Association of Xavier School (AAXS) was formed in 1960 with nine members, the size of the first graduating class of Xavier School. With the membership base growing to over 13,000 Xaverians spanning 55 batches, the AAXS' objectives and structure have evolved. At present, the association works to fulfill the objective of promoting camaraderie and friendship among alumni; of assisting in the development of Xavier School and its community; and upholding the Xavier ideals.
All elected officials formally assumed their positions last April 1, 2015 and shall serve until March 31, 2017.

No comments:

Post a Comment